How to view, delete old iphone backups in icloud

2020-03-19
THE PUNCH Newspaper- www.imore.com

STORING backups in icloud is a fantastic idea in case your iphone, ipad, or Mac ever gets reset for any reason. You don’t want to lose any important files, photos, or app data, but every backup does take space.

If you back up your devices a lot, you could find yourself running out of space in your icloud storage — especially if you just have the 5GB Apple gives you. The good news is that you can delete old backups, so you don’t have unnecessary and old data hanging around clogging up your storage box.

What is an icloud backup? icloud automatically backs up all of the data on your iphone or ipad every day, so long as the device is connected to Wi-fi, turned on, locked, and connected to a power source. This makes it easy to restore a device if you need to wipe it or set up a brand new iphone or ipad with your existing data.

The first thing you will need to do to restore your iphone or ipad from a backup is to erase and reset all of your content and settings. At this point, you will lose all data that hasn’t been synced in icloud or another cloud-based service. Here’s a list of data you will keep and lose when you reset your iphone.

Find My iphone will also automatically be disabled when you reset your device. not to worry, though. It will automatically enable when you restore.

Once you are sure you have backed up everything important, erase your iphone data right from the device.

Here’s what gets backed up to icloud: • itunes purchase history

• Photos and videos (unless you have icloud Photo Library enabled)

• Device settings

• App data

• Home screen and app ogranisation • imessage, text messages, MMS messages (if restoring, the SIM card used during back up is required)

• Ringtones

• Visual Voicemail password (if restoring, the SIM card used during back up is required) • Health data

• Homekit configuration

It can end up being quite a lot of data, which can take up a good chunk of your icloud storage.

Why it’s good to keep your icloud backups Holding onto your icloud backups means you get to take your data virtually anywhere, with the ability to access and restore your iphone or ipad’s data from just about anywhere as well. It’s particularly handy for folks with multiple devices, especially those who rely on Accessibility settings, since you don’t have to manually set everything up again.

Why it’s OK to delete icloud backups The moment someone recommends deleting a backup, you might look at them in shock and wonder how they even dressed themselves this morning. Relax, Jack. It’s OK to delete an icloud backup because you have your device backed up on your Mac or Windows computer, right? Riiiight???

Get an itunes backup of your iphone or ipad going, then you have a backup of your backup, just in case. And don’t forget, if you turn icloud backup on again, your device will still be backed up when you’re connected to Wi-fi, the device is locked, turned on, and connected to power.

How to delete icloud backups on your iphone or ipad

1. Launch the Settings app on your iphone or ipad.

2. Tap on your Apple ID right at the top. It should be the name you used to sign up for an Apple ID.

3. Tap on icloud.

4. Tap Manage Storage under icloud. 5. Tap Backup.

6. Tap the device whose backup you want to delete.

7. Tap Delete Backup at the bottom. 8. Tap Turn Off & Delete.

How to delete icloud backups on your Mac 1. Launch System Preferences from the dock, your Finder, or by clicking the Apple icon on the top left of your screen.

2. Click your Apple ID and sign in if prompted.

3. Click Manage... in the bottom right corner of the window.

4. Click Backups in the menu on the left. 5. Click the backup you want to delete. 6. Click the remove icon on the bottom left the pane. It looks like a minus icon. 7. Click Delete in the pop-up.

8. Click Done or repeat steps 5 to 7 to delete another backup

How to restore your iphone or ipad from a backup

All technology can fail sometimes. Your Bluetooth connection stops working, your iphone stops tracking your location in Maps, perhaps certain apps are always crashing when you launch them on your ipad — either way, sometimes you need to restore your iphone or ipad to get things working smoothly again. If your device is acting wonky and you want to shock the system back into working order, you can always restore it from a backup!

Always be backing up

Just like it is important to back up your Mac, it is essential to make sure your iphone or ipad is on a regular backup schedule. You can set it up to automatically back up every 24 hours via icloud, or whenever you connect it to your computer and open itunes. Your backup regimen is up to you, but you should be backing up regularly so when you have to resort to restoring your device, you’ve got a backup ready.

How to reset your device next, you will need to restore your iphone’s data from its most recent backup. Once you have reset it, follow these steps.

1. When you see the “Hello” screen, press the Home button.

2. Select a language.

3. Select a country or region.

4. Choose a Wi-fi network and sign into it. 5. Enable or disable Location Services. 6. Set up Touch ID.

7. When you get to the “Apps and Data” screen, tap Restore from icloud Backup. 8. Enter your Apple ID and password. 9. Agree to the Terms and Conditions. 10. Select the backup you want to use. Tap Show all backups to view older backups stored in icloud.

11. It will take a while to restore your backup from icloud, so grab a cup of tea and go for a nice, healthy walk.

How to restore your iphone or ipad using macos Catalina

Before you start this method, you need to make sure that Find My feature is turned off on your iphone or ipad.

1. Connect your iphone or ipad to your computer.

2. Launch Finder on your computer. 3. Click on your device name from the sidebar.

4. Click Restore iphone or Restore ipad. 5. Click Back Up if you want to make a backup or ** Don’t Back Up** if you don’t want to.

6. Click Restore.

7. This will delete all your data and reset your iphone or ipad to factory settings.

When all else fails

If for some reason, restoring from a backup does nothing to help your problem, you can start fresh with a clean install of IOS on your device. The benefit of doing this is that it empties your iphone of everything and resets it as if it were brand new, which means you can start over and only select apps you want to keep on your iphone or ipad. It’s sort of like spring cleaning your device.

The bad news is that it does not save your Health data or Messages. Before doing a clean install, make sure your photos, app data, music, safari activities, and contacts have been backed up to some cloud services, like icloud Drive, Dropbox, or Onedrive. This data will not carry over, but can be added back to your iphone if you’ve saved it in the Cloud.

As for saving your Health app data or Messages, you can use a third-party app like Health Data Importer for exporting and importing Health app backups.

Once you are sure you have backed up important data in some cloud service, you can perform a fresh install of IOS on your iphone or ipad. Follow the steps to reset your device, and then select Set Up as new Phone.

 

Your comment

 

(E-mail)

 

 

 

News Archive