Nigeria's Bonny crude exports to hit 2-year high trade

VANGUARD Newspaper

The new Chief of Army Staff, Lt. General Azubuike Ihejirika has effected a major reorganization in the army with the appointment of new Principal Staff Officers, GOC�s, and Commandants of Training Institutions. Also appointed is a new Guards Brigade Commander for the Presidential Villa.

The new Principal Staff officers are Major General OA Akinyemi, formerly Chief of Research and Development, Defence headquarters, now Chief of Policy and Plans, army headquarters.
He takes over from Major General Atofarati, Major General Lawrence Ngubane, formerly the GOC �2� division, Ibadan, is now the Chief of Training and operations, Army headquarters. He takes over from Major General Moses Obi who is Force Commander on United Nations Mission in Sudan.

Major General BS Usara, formerly Director of Physical Training and Sports at Defence headquarters, is now the Chief of Army Standards and Evaluation; Major General BC Azurunwa, formerly Chief of Army Standards is now the Chief of Logistics, Army headquarters, Major General AB Maitama, formerly the Commander, Infantry Corp is now Chief of administration, Army headquarters, Major General US Essien is the new Commander, Training and Doctrine Command.

Also affected in the redeployment is Major General Emeka Onwuameagbu, formerly of the Nigeria Army Peacekeeping Centre, now Commandant of the Nigeria Defence Academy, Kaduna. He takes over from Major General Mahmed Yerima who is now Chief of Training and Operations, Defence headquarters. Major General Cecil Esekhaigbe, the Principal Staff Officer (PGSO) to the minister of Defence, would proceed to London as Nigeria�s Defence adviser at a later date.

The new Guards Brigade Commander is Colonel EJ Atewe, formerly of National Defence College who takes over from Brigadier general Mustapha. A new Commander of the Joint Task Force for Niger Delta �Operation Restore Hope� was also appointed; he is Major General CO Omoregie.

For the General Officers Commanding, Major General Joseph Shoboiki, one time Guards Brigade Commander, is the GOC �1� division. He takes over from Major General Kamaldeen Role. Major General Sarkin Yakin Bello, formerly the Commander, Operation restore hope is the new GOC �82� division, Enugu. He takes over from Major General Mohammed Isah. Brigadier general Kenneth Minima, formerly the Brigade Commander 1 brigade, Sokoto is the new GOC �81� division Lagos.

Brigadier General MD Abubakar is the General Officer Commanding �2� division, Ibadan. He takes over from Major General Ngubane. Major General SO Idoko, formerly Commander Armoured Corp is now General Officer Commanding �3� division, Jos. He takes over from Major General Saleh Maina. Brigadier General MA Nasamu is the new Commander, Army Headquarters Garrison, Abuja.

The new Director of military Intelligence is Brigadier General SY Audu, Brigadier General PJ Isang, formerly Commander AHQ Garrison moves to Department of Army Standard and Evaluation as Director, Major General BT Obasa moves from Defence headquarters where he served as director to NATRAC as the new Commandant. Major General SU Abdukadir formerly Military Secretary, is now chief of Research and Development, DHQ.

Major General AA Olaniyi is moved from NASME to Nigeria Army Corps of Engineers as Commander, Major General AT Umaru, formerly the Director of Military Intelligence is moved to Defence headquarters as director of administration. Major General Charles Airhiabvere, formerly the Commander, Corp of Finance is moved to NIPSS.

Major General JA Okunbo formerly of Defence headquarters is now Deputy Commandant, Armed Forces Resettlement Centre, Major General GG Umo formerly Commander, Nigeria Army Signal Corps is redeployed to the Armed Forces Command and staff College as a director.

Brigadier General PT Boroh is moved from Army headquarters department of administration to Jaji as the new Commandant, Nigeria Army Peace Keeping Centre. Brigadier General AI Muraina takes over as the Commander, Corp of Army Finance, Brigadier General AB Marwa is the Commander Armoured Corps, and Brigadier General U Buzugbe is the Military Secretary.

Brigadier General AS Agha_Okoro moves from Defence headquarters to Army headquarters as Director of Peacekeeping, Brigadier General JA Ochoga moves from Defence headquarters to 2 Brigade as Brigade Commander.


Your comment






News Archive