FG appoints VC, registrars for nine new varsities

THE PUNCH Newspaper- John Alechenu

The Federal Government on Wednesday announced the appointment of vice-chancellors and registrars for the nine new federal universities.

Minister of Education, Prof. Ruqayyatu Rufa’i, made the announcement at a media briefing in Abuja.

She explained that the decision to appoint the chief executives was in line with the Federal Government’s desire to ensure the commencement of academic activities in the institutions in September 2011.

The minister said the Federal Executive Council had approved temporary and permanent sites for the take-off of the institutions across the six geo-political zones.

She added that, “Council also approved N1.5bn for each university, to be sourced from the Education Trust Fund.

“As an affirmation of the readiness of government to ensure that the universities fully take off by September this year, President Goodluck Jonathan has graciously approved the appointment of vice-chancellors and registrars for the new universities.”

The minister said care was taken to ensure that the vice-chancellors were carefully chosen from the ranks of former VCs, deputy vice-chancellors, provosts of colleges of medicine as well as Nigerian professors in the Diaspora. It was also agreed that none of the vice-chancellors would serve in a university within his or her geo-political zone.

But an exemption was made in the case of registrars in order to ensure a good host community-university relationship.

Those appointed were a former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Lagos, Prof. Oye Ibidapo-Obe, who is now the VC of Federal University, Ndufe-Alike, Ebonyi State, while Mr. G.O Chukwu was appointed registrar.

Prof. Abdulmumini Rafindadi and Mrs. Habiba Adeiza were appointed VC and registrar respectively for Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State.

Prof. Ekanem Braide and Dr. Idris Jibrin were appointed VC and registrar for Federal University, Lafia, Nassarawa State while Prof. Mohammed Farouk and Dr. Abubakar Bafeto were named VC and registrar respectively for Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State.

Prof. Geoffery Okogbaa and Mr. John Ansho were appointed VC and registrar respectively for Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State.

Other appointments include that of Prof. James Ayatse and Mr. Abubakar Yusuf as VC and registrar respectively for Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina State.

Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State, has Prof. Jibrila Amin and Alhaji Yusuf Adamu as VC and registrar respectively while Federal University, Oye-Ekiti has Prof. Chinedu Nebo and Dr. Modupe Ajayi as VC and registrar respectively.

Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa State has Prof. Bolaji Aluko as VC and Mr. David Suwari is to serve as registrar. The appointments take immediate effect.

The Joint Admissions and Matriculations Board has also been directed to facilitate students’ intake in September this year.


Your comment






News Archive