50 Founding fathers of Delta State, including Comrade Joseph Evah bagged award from Delta State Governor; Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan as Delta State celebrates 20th anniversary

Sunday Vanguard Newspaper, August 28, 2011, Page 9 and http://www.emmanueluduaghan.com.ng

Delta State Government has given award to 50 outstanding Deltans for their industry, integrity, professional expertise and contributions towards the development of the state and nation.

Presenting the award to some of the recipients, the State Governor, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan extolled the virtues of the awardees explaining that most of them have made their mark in various areas of specialization.

He said "This award is an initiative meant to recognize these deserving Deltans who have
selflessly served the state and country in their various endeavours and whose efforts have helped to transform our society."

He explained that the award which was specially packaged by the Vanguard Newspaper was not politicized so that people of different political linens will not read meaning to it.

The governor called on Deltans at home and in diaspora to make their professional knowledge
available to the state so that the development of infrastructure and empowerment of Deltans would move fast.

"I call on all Deltans in various professions across the world to make themselves known and available to the present administration in the state as your expertise and contacts are very relevant in the development process of our dear state."

Governor Uduaghan promised to re-activate ailing industries and breathe new life into the Warri port saying "We will improve infrastructure, rehabilitate ailing industries, build roads, attract foreign investors and create jobs for our people. Our efforts at resuscitating the Warri Port are yielding tremendous results."

Asserting that Delta State has acquired maturity at 20 and progressed beyond the imagination of some critics, he said Arik airlines would soon start operations at the airport.

Speaking further, the governor said his administration was committed to bringing sustained peace, security and development to the state stressing that he was on course to having a state less dependent on oil.

He commended the founding fathers of Delta State for their visionary foresight and sacrifices which have helped to lay a solid foundation for the future adding that his administration was building on the foundation that has been laid.

The governor also thanked his predecessors for their contributions in making Delta State what it is today and promised to continue on the steady march towards sustainable development with the co-operation of all Deltans.

Some of the awardees are: Professor. Grace Alele-Williams, HRM, The Olu of Warri, HRM,The

Asagba of Asaba, HRM, The Orodge Of Okpe, Chief Edwin Clark, Olorogun Felix Ibru, Chief
Benjamin Okumagba, Chief Newton Jibunor, Dr. Abel Ubeku, Dr. Mrs. Ngozi Okonjo Iweala among others.

Roll Call Of The Awardees as presented in the Sunday Vanguard News Paper shows the following were among the 50 Awardess:
1. Prof. Grace Alele-Williams
2. Mr. Sam Amuka
3. Chief Philp Asiodu
4. Chief Allison Ayida
5. Alaowei Bozimo
6. Ambassador A. Clark
7. Chief Edwin Clark
8. Prof J.P. Clark
9. Senator David Dafinone
10. Air Marshal Paul Dike
11. General David Ejoor
12. Mr. Tony Elumelu
13. Mr. Justus Esiri
14. Comrade Angodeme Joseph Evah
15. Chief Hope Harriman
16. Mr. Alex Ibru
17. Olorugun Felix Ibru
18. Olorugun Michael Ibru
19. Prof. B.I.C. Ijomah
20. Prof. Obaro Ikime
21. Mr. Victor Ikpeba
22. Chief Isaac Jemide
23. Chief Newton Jibunoh
24. Chief Sylvester Moemeke
25. Prof. E.A.C. Nwanze
26. Ar. Demas Nwoko
27. Mr. Nduka Obaigbena
28. Chief Sonny Odogwu
29. Chief Mrs. Ritalowri Ogbebor
30. Gen. Alexander Ogumudia
31. Dr. Emmanuel Ojei
32. Miss Blessing Okagbare
33. Dr. Mrs. Ngozi Okonjo-Iwela
34. Chief Wellington Okirika
35. Chief Bejamin Okumagba
36. Vice Adm. Dan Preston Enitor Omatsola
37. General Paul Omu
38. Prof. Bruce Onobrakpeya
39. Deacon Gamaliel Onosode
40. Dr. Evelyn Oputu
41. Engr. Guy Otobo
42. Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor
43. Brig. General Oviemo Ovadje
44. Mr. Jim Ovia
45. Prof. Sam Oyovbaire
46. Dr. Abel Ubeku
47. Prof. Pat Utomi
48. HRM, Asaba of Asaba
49. HRM, Orodje of Okpe
50. HRM, Olu of Warri


Your comment






News Archive