NUC goes after 65 illegal tertiary institutions

VANGUARD Newspaper

THE National Universities Commission (NUC) has released a list of 65 illegal degree awarding institutions operating in the country for sometimes now. Some of them are already facing investigation/prosecution.

These institutions, some of which were earlier named in 2012, have not been licensed by the Federal Government and have, therefore, been operating in violation of the Education (National Minimum Standards etc) Act CAP E3 Law of the Federation of Nigeria 2004.

A good number of the “degree mills” are found in the South Eastern part of the country as well as the South South states of Anambra, Ebonyi, Abia, Enugu, Imo, Delta, Rivers and Akwa Ibom.

Some North Central states, including Kogi, Abuja, Benue, Kwara and Nasarawa also play host to some of the illegal schools.

Incidentally, the South West, which has the bulk of duly licenced private universities in the country, plays host to a sprinkle of these illegal outfits, mostly campuses/study centres of vague foreign varsities operating in the country. They are located in Lagos, Oyo, Ondo and Ekiti states.

In the August 24th bulletin of the NUC, in which the “schools” were listed, the NUC Executive Secretary, Prof. Julius Okojie, warned that those who patronise the schools do so at their own risk as “certificates obtained from these sources will not be recognised for the purposes of National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) deployment, employment and further studies.”

The NUC bulletin also listed eight institutions as currently undergoing investigations and court actions, which according to the commission, would ultimately lead to the prosecution of their proprietors and recovery of illegal fees and charges on subscribers. Those in this category are National University of Nigeria, Keffi, Nasarawa State; North Central University, Otukpo, Benue State; Christ Alive Christian Seminary and University, Enugu State; Richmond Open University, Arochukwu, Abia State; and West Coast University, Umuahia.

Others are Saint Clements University, Iyin Ekiti, Ekiti State; Volta University College, Aba, Abia State; and illegal Satellite Campuses of Ambrose Ali University.


Your comment






News Archive