Military Shake Up: Army Redeploys GOCs, Senior Officers

THISDAY Newspaper- Kingsley Nwezeh

The seeming ongoing country’s security re-organisation which started two weeks ago by President Goodluck Jonathan, on Friday took a new twist as the Nigerian Army carried out a posting exercise, which resulted in the redeployment of some of its major senior officers.

The posting as contained in a statement issued by the Director, Army Public Relations Chris Olukolade, revealed that the reshuffle brings J.O Shoboiki, a Major General to become the General Officer Commanding (GOC) 1 Division, M.D Abubakar, a Brigadier General move to GOC 2 Division, S.O Idoko, a Major General to GOC 3 Division, K.T.J Minimah, a Brigadier General to GOC 81 Division, SY Bello, a Major General to GOC 82 Division, M.A Nasamu, a Brigadier General move to Commander Army Headquarters Garrison and E.J Atewe, a Colonel is now the Commander Brigade of Guards.

Similarly, C.O Onwuamaegbu, a Major General is now commandant of the Nigerian Defence Academy as the former Academy’s helmsman M.A Yerima, a Major General moves to the Defence Headquarters as Chief of Training and Operations. C.O Omoregie, a Major General is also now the new Commander of the Joint Task Force.

The Army Headquarters will also have new principal staff officers, who include O Akinyemi, a Major General as the Chief of Policy and Plans. L.P Ngubane, a Major General is now the Chief of Training and Operations, B.S Usara, a Major General takes over as the Chief of Army Standards and Evaluation, B.C Azunrunwa, a Major General as the Chief of Logistics, A.B Maitama, a Major General assumes the duty of the Chief of Administration.

Mr Olukolade states that other positions affected by the posting, are a few staff appointments at the Defence and Army Headquarters.

The Army however, states that the postings were carried out as step to cater for “deployments in the force following recent retirements and appointments in the Nigerian Army. Affected officers are expected to resume at their new posts immediately.”

Earlier in the month, a statement by Ima Niboro, the president’s spokesman, announced the sack of the country’s service chiefs inherited from the Yar’Adua administration and named the newly appointed service chiefs as Oluseyi Petinrin, an Air Marshal who becomes the chief of defence staff; Onyeabo A. Ihejirika, a Major General, is chief of army staff; O.S Ibrahim, a Rear Admiral, is chief of naval staff; and Mohammed Dikko Umar, an Air Vice-Marshal, steps in as chief of air staff. Mr Ihejirika is the first Igbo to head the Army since the end of the civil war.Also, the former inspector general of police, Ogbonna Onovo was replaced by Hafiz A. Ringim who will be acting in that capacity while Ita Ekpeyong replaces A.A Gadzama as the new director general of the State Security Services (SSS).


Your comment






News Archive